#throwbackthursday

Happy Thursday! I’m gonna share an important story with you tonight. I really think this one will provide you with the insight you need to get who I am.

I started going to the gym about two years ago now (though based on my physical appearance, you’d swear I’d never been. Or eaten.), and at the beginning, I was so awkward. I had no idea what I was doing or what I should be doing. Fortunately, my good friend Corey is always they to guide me through the tough times in my life. Yes. Going to the gym was a very difficult time for me.

Anyway, we were working out in ‘the orange room’, which I believe is where the Crossfitters work out. I say this because I’ve seen people jumping off of walls, walking on their hands and pushing around some weighted sleigh sans Santa. Obviously, I do NOT do crossfit. You can tell because I just said ‘weighted sleigh’. So, Corey was taking his turn doing a set on the pull down and separate arm machine workout (you know that one…right?), and I was standing with my arms crossed hating my life when I noticed a man doing some interesting exercise. He would lunge, put down his weight, pick it up and lunge with the other leg. Is that how you spell lunge? If you can’t imagine what I’m describing, let me know so I can post a video of me doing it. So this guy keeps doing whatever he’s doing until he’s, like, right in front of me. He then proceeds to put the weights down and walk away. Naturally, I picked them up and said ‘Thank you!” because I thought he was done with them and maybe wanted me to use them. Turns out, he was thirsty and went to get some water.

You’d think I’d be embarrassed, but I’m really just mad at him. Also, I’m really just jaded guys. I don’t trust people at the gym anymore. Like, why didn’t he want to share with me? Does he not think I’m cool enough? Maybe he remembered the time I got stuck in the rowboat machine and had to get assistance to free my feet. I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

